h1

Rugratbrella

May 21, 2008

Children’s umbrellas – are they cute or repulsive?

You see, I find the shape of this here fairy umbrella absolutely delightful, and the colours are pretty, and the pattern’s too small to see but seems attractive enough. The ears lend it a touch of Shreks appeal, and the handle is brilliant. So why do I look at it as a whole and cringe? I don’t have any offspring, but if I did would I want them toddling away before me beneath this multifeatured jumble of colour?

I suppose the ultimate choice is decided not what I like but what my child begs for day in, day out until I give up and spend my last hard-earned pennies on their every consumerist whim.

I think the pirate and the fireman umbrellas are the most fun. If I was 7 I think I’d prefer the pirate one to have a real gnarled old bastard of a pirate on it rather than a bestriped kiddy. But still, it has a big sword sticking out of it. And who knows what kids want? I’m 29.

I would like to make some children’s umbrellas but with all the regulations regarding small parts and chewable bits and age ranges and stuff it’ll probably be a while before I get on to that. When I do, they won’t be anywhere near as nice as all these. Well, that’s a depressing thought.

Leave a Reply

